MINUTES* Council on Postsecondary Education July 22, 1997

The Council on Postsecondary Education met on Tuesday, July 22, 1997, at 12 noon (ET) in Room 110 of the Capitol Building in Frankfort.

OATH OF OFFICE

Chief Justice Robert F. Stephens administered the oath of office to the new members announced by the Governor in a press conference earlier in the day – Norma B. Adams, Walter A. Baker, Steve Barger, Peggy Bertelsman, Renita Edwards (student member), Ronald Greenberg, Leonard V. Hardin, Marlene M. Helm, Shirley Menendez, James M. Miller, Marcia Milby Ridings, Lois Combs Weinberg, and Charles Whitehead. Lee T. Todd, Jr., and Merl M. Hackbart (faculty member) were absent. The oath of office will be administered to these two members at the next meeting.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS MOTION: Ms. Adams moved the selection of Mr. Hardin as Chair. Mr. Whitehead seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed.

MOTION: Mr. Miller moved that Mr. Whitehead serve as Vice Chair. Ms. Bertelsman seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed.

INTERIM FACULTY AND STAFF TUITION POLICY Mr. Cox presented the following recommendation:

RECOMMENDATION: That the Council on Postsecondary Education authorize the Acting President to develop and implement an interim policy on faculty and staff tuition waivers as authorized by KRS 164.020(32). The policy is to be implemented prior to the fall 1997 semester and will be subject to review and action by the Council at the next meeting.

House Bill 1 enacted by the General Assembly during the 1997 Special Session provided an opportunity for employees of the universities and Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS), which includes the technical schools and the community

* All attachments are kept with the original minutes in CPE offices. A verbatim transcript of the meeting is also available.

colleges, to enroll tuition free at Kentucky's postsecondary institutions and directed the CPE to set a policy. The law allows regular full-time employees to take up to six hours per academic term including the summer session. In order to provide this opportunity for students enrolling in the fall semester, an interim policy was developed. A more detailed policy will be brought to the CPE for consideration at a future meeting.

MOTION: Ms. Bertelsman moved that the recommendation be approved. Mr. Miller seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed.

MOTION: Mr. Miller moved that the CPE approve a 5 percent annual increment to Gary Cox's salary to be retroactive to July 1, 1997. Mr. Barger seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed.

Mr. Hardin commended Gary Cox for his work and thanked him for assuming the role of Acting President.

Mr. Cox discussed the trusteeship conference scheduled for September 21 and 22 at the Louisville Marriott East. The Governor plans to participate on both days. An agenda is being developed. Detailed information will be sent in the next few weeks.

An orientation meeting will be scheduled prior to the September conference to discuss House Bill 1 and House Bill 4 as well as procedural and organizational issues. Mr. Cox also will schedule individual conversations with CPE members prior to that organizational meeting to discuss interests and thoughts concerning postsecondary education.

Mr. Greenberg suggested that the university presidents and board chairs be invited to a reception to give everyone the opportunity to meet and to reconcile together as one statewide team. This event could be scheduled either in conjunction with the orientation meeting or the September conference.

COMMITTEES/ Mr. Hardin will appoint members to serve on CPE committees. He also will appoint members to serve on the Strategic Committee on Postsecondary Education (SCOPE). According to HB 1, SCOPE will consist of the chair of the CPE, the president of the CPE, and five members of the CPE designated by the chair; the Governor and six persons designated by the Governor; President of the Senate, Speaker

ANNUAL **INCREMENT FOR** ACTING PRESIDENT

TRUSTEESHIP *CONFERENCE*

NEXT MEETING

SCOPE

of the House of Representatives, Majority and Minority Floor Leaders of both chambers of the General Assembly, Minority Caucus Chair of each chamber, member appointed by the President of the Senate, member appointed by the Speaker of the House, member appointed by the Minority Floor Leader of the Senate, member appointed by the Minority Floor Leader of the House, and the chair of the Committee on Appropriations and Revenue of each chamber.

Ed Ford, Deputy Secretary of the Cabinet, thanked the members again on behalf of the Governor for agreeing to serve on the CPE. He said that it is up to this group to make the legislation contained in HB 1 successful. He said that the state of Kentucky is very fortunate to have a leader like Governor Patton to address postsecondary education.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.

Gary S. Cox Acting President

Phyllis L.

Phyllis L. Bailey Secretary