MINUTES

Joint Meeting between Council on Postsecondary Education, Public Institutional Presidents, and Board of Student Body Presidents February 2, 2018

The Council on Postsecondary Education met in a joint meeting with the Public Institutional Presidents and the Board of Student Body Presidents on Friday, February 2, 2018, at the Council Offices in Frankfort, Kentucky. The meeting began at 9:30 a.m. ET and concluded at 11:00 a.m. ET. Chair Sherrill Zimmerman presided.

ROLL CALL

The following Council members were present: Ronald C. Beal, Benjamin Brandstetter, Kim Halbauer, Lucas V. Mentzer, Donna Moore, Kristi Nelson, Vidya Ravichandran, Shawn Reynolds, Robert H. Staat, Sebastian Torres, Carol Wright, and Sherrill Zimmerman. Joe Ellis, Dan Flanagan, Joe Papalia, and Commissioner Stephen Pruitt did not attend.

The following Institutional Presidents were present: Michael T. Benson (EKU), Jay K. Box (KCTCS), M. Christopher Brown (KSU), Timothy Caboni (WKU), Gary Cox (AIKCU), Robert O. Davies (MuSU), Greg Postel (UofL), and Gerard St. Amand (NKU). Angie Martin represented Eli Capilouto (UK). Jay Morgan (MoSU) did not attend.

The following Board of Student Body Presidents were present: Ben Childress (UK), Onaje Cunningham (KSU), Sami Dada (NKU), Andi Dahmer (WKU), Laura Jackson (EKU), Gavin Posey (KCTCS), Ric Smith (KCTCS), Vishnu Tirumla (UofL), and Tori Wood (MuSU). Kirby Fitzpatrick (AIKCU) and Rachael Malone (MoSU) did not attend.

CPE staff at the table were: Robert King and Aaron Thompson.

DISCUSSION TOPICS

An agenda was distributed for the joint meeting but no action was taken. Discussion topics included advocacy for postsecondary education, college affordability and the perceived value of higher education, and methods to increase enrollment on the campuses and decrease the barriers many students encounter before the application process.

ADJOURNMENT The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m. ET.

Robert L. King CPE President

Heather M. Faesy
Associate, Board Relations
Special
Projects