MINUTES

Council on Postsecondary Education

Type: Joint Meeting of the Council on Postsecondary Education, Institutional

Presidents, and the Board of Student Body Presidents

Date: February 22, 2019

Time: 8:30 a.m.

Location: Council on Postsecondary Education, Conference Room A

CALL TO ORDER

The Council on Postsecondary Education, Institutional Presidents, and the Board of Student Body Presidents met in a joint meeting on Friday, February 22, 2019, at 8:30 a.m., ET, at the CPE offices in Frankfort, Kentucky. Chair Sherrill Zimmerman presided.

ATTENDANCE

Members in attendance: Ron Beal, Ben Brandstetter, Kim Halbauer, Lori Harper, Lucas Mentzer, Donna Moore, Kristi Nelson, Shawn Reynolds, Robert Staat, Sebastian Torres, Carol Wright, Sherrill Zimmerman, and Wayne Lewis.

Members not in attendance: Joe Ellis and Vidya Ravichandran.

Institutional Presidents in attendance: Michael T. Benson (EKU), Jay K. Box (KCTCS), Timothy Caboni (WKU), Robert Jackson (MuSU), Jay Morgan (MoSU), and Ashish Vaidya (NKU). Angie Martin represented Eli Capilouto (UK), Shannon Rickett represented Neeli Bendapudi (UofL) and Greg Rush represented Christopher Brown (KSU).

Board of Student Body Presidents in attendance: Susie Smith (UK), Michael Weaver (KSU), Hannah Edelen (NKU), Kaisee Riddell (EKU), Ricky Shaw (KCTCS), Jonathan Fuller (UofL), Trey Book (MuSU), and Brandon Bryer (MoSU). Marc Blunk (KCTCS) and Stephen Mayer (WKU) did not attend.

CPE President Aaron Thompson attended the meeting and served as Secretary of the board, per the CPE Bylaws. Heather Faesy, CPE's senior associate for Board Relations, served as recorder of the meeting minutes.

DISCUSSION

An agenda was distributed for the joint meeting but no action was taken. Discussion topics included college affordability the barriers students face before, during and after college.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

MINUTES REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE COUNCIL: April 26, 2019