MINUTES

Council on Postsecondary Education

Type:Special-called Business MeetingDate:May 13, 2021Time:3:00 p.m. ETLocation:Virtual Meeting – Council members by ZOOM teleconference. Public
viewing on the CPE YouTube page.

WELCOMING & CALL TO ORDER

The Council on Postsecondary Education met Thursday, May 13, 2021, at 3:00 p.m., ET. Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-243 and a memorandum issued by the Finance and Administration Cabinet dated March 16, 2020, and in an effort to prevent the spread of Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), the CPE met utilizing a video teleconference. Members of the public were invited to view the meeting virtually on the CPE YouTube page.

ATTENDENCE

Members attended: Ronald Beal, Colby Birkes, Eric Farris, Karyn Hoover, Lucas Mentzer, Kristi Nelson, Richard Nelson, Vidya Ravichandran, Robert Staat, Madison Silvert, Doris Thomas, Kevin Weaver, Carol Wright, and Commissioner Jason Glass.

Members not in attendance: Muhammad Babar and Lori Harper.

CPE President Aaron Thompson served as the facilitator of the meeting in the absence of a chair and as Secretary of the board, per the CPE Bylaws. Heather Faesy, CPE's senior associate for Board Relations, served as recorder of the meeting minutes.

AMENDMENT OF NOVEMBER 2021 MEETING DATES

The Council approved the 2021-22 meeting dates at its April 6, 2021 meeting. Unfortunately, the November 2021 meeting dates in the agenda materials were listed incorrectly. The revised dates of November 4-5, 2021 were recommended for approval.

MOTION: Mr. Nelson moved to approve the revised meeting dates. Mr. Farris seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed.

FINANCE COMMITTEE – REPORT AND ACTION ITEM

Mr. Eric Farris presented the Finance Committee's recommendation of the following motion in regards to tuition and mandatory fees for the 2021-22 and 2022-23 academic years:

Resident undergraduate tuition and mandatory fee ceilings for academic years 2021-22 and 2022-23 that equate to:

- A maximum base rate increase of no more than 3.0 percent over two years, and a maximum increase of no more than 2.0 percent in any one year, for public research and comprehensive universities.
- A maximum base rate increase of no more than \$5.⁰⁰ per credit hour over two years, and a maximum increase of no more than \$3.⁰⁰ per credit hour in any one year, for students attending KCTCS institutions.

Public institutions shall be allowed to submit for Council review and approval:

- Nonresident undergraduate tuition and fee rates that comply with the Council's *Tuition and Mandatory Fees Policy*, or otherwise adhere to provisions of an existing Memorandum of Understanding between the Council and an institution.
- Market competitive tuition and fee rates for graduate and online courses.

Mr. Colby Birkes provided comments on why he voted in favor of the motion, reasons of which included the low proposed ceiling and limited budgetary options by the campuses due to the general assembly's inability to increase general funding.

MOTION: The Finance Committee's recommendation serves as the motion for approval. Ms. Nelson seconded the motion.

Council members engaged in a discussion regarding perception that higher education is unaffordability, average student loan levels, continuously increasing fixed costs at the campuses, institutions' need to look at long terms ways to reduce fixed costs, and CPE's role in maintaining affordability for all students.

VOTE: In a roll call vote, the Council voted 10-3 and approved the motion. The nay votes were from Mr. Beal, Mr. Nelson, and Ms. Wright.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE – REPORT AND ACTION ITEM

Mr. Nelson, chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the Committee's slate of members to serve as chair and vice chair of the CPE for the remainder of the current term that ends January 2022. Those members were Lucas Mentzer as chair and Eric Farris as vice chair. The chair shall serve as the convener of all Council meetings and as the central voice of the Council. In the absence of the chair, or in the event the chair is unable to perform, the vice chair shall perform the duties of the chair. In the event the chair resigns and the vice chair assumes the duties of the chair, the council may select a vice chair to complete the unexpired term of the vice chair. The chair and vice chair are limited to three consecutive one-year terms.

MOTION: Ms. Wright moved the Council elect Lucas Mentzer as chair and Eric Farris as vice chair for the remainder of the current term that ends January 2022. Mr. Silvert seconded the motion.

VOTE: The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

The Council adjourned at 3:35 p.m. ET.

MINUTES REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE COUNCIL: June 25, 2021