Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

Overview of Kentucky Institutions

Kentucky's postsecondary education system encompasses nine public institutions and numerous independent institutions.

State-supported institutions
Institutions Licensed to Operate in Kentucky
  • Alice Lloyd College
  • Asbury Theological Seminary
  • Asbury University
  • Bellarmine University
  • Berea College
  • Brescia University
  • Campbellsville University
  • Centre College
  • Clear Creek Baptist Bible College
  • Frontier Nursing University
  • Georgetown College
    (conditional license with CPE)
  • Kentucky Christian University
  • Kentucky Wesleyan College
    (conditional license with CPE)
  • Lexington Theological Seminary
  • Lindsey Wilson College
  • Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary
  • Midway University
  • Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
  • Spalding University
  • Thomas More College
  • Transylvania University
  • Union College
  • University of the Cumberlands
  • University of Pikeville
    (conditional license with CPE – Doctor of Optometry program)

Other licensed, in-state, non-profit, independent institutions

  • Baptist Seminary of Kentucky
  • Brighton Center's Center for Employment Training
  • College of the Scriptures
  • Employment Solutions Inc., d/b/a College for Technical Education
  • Kentucky Mountain Bible College
  • Simmons College of Kentucky

Licensed, in-state, for-profit institutions

  • American National University of Kentucky, Inc. d/b/a American National University
    (conditional license with CPE
  • Daymar College (Daymar Learning, Inc. d/b/a Daymar College)
  • Spencerian College
  • Sullivan University
  • Sullivan College of Technology and Design

Out-of-state institutions licensed to operate in Kentucky*

  • American National University – Online
  • Ashford University - Online
  • Beckfield College
  • Boston University - Online 
  • Brown Mackie College - Louisville - Fern Valley
    (conditional license with CPE
  • California State University-Northridge - Online
  • Campbell University
  • Chamberlain College of Nursing - Online
  • Collins Career Technical Center
  • Columbia Southern University - Online
  • Daymar College (Draughons Junior College, Inc. d/b/a Daymar College)
  • DeVry University - Online 
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Everest University - South Orlando - Online
    (conditional license with CPE
  • Everest University - Tampa - Online
    (conditional license with CPE
  • Galen College of Nursing
  • Independence University - Online
  • Indiana Institute of Technology
  • Indiana University Southeast
  • Indiana Wesleyan University
  • Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
  • Johnson University
  • Lee University - Louisville Extension
  • Lincoln Memorial University
  • Loyola University New Orleans - Louisville
  • McKendree University
  • Middle Tennessee School of Anesthesia
  • Mount St. Joseph University
  • National University – Online
  • Northeastern University
  • Northwood University
  • Oakland City University - Dixon
  • Ohio University
  • Ottawa University
  • Pennsylvania State University - Online
  • Post University - Online
  • Rush University
  • Sacred Heart University - Online
  • Samford University – Online
  • Shawnee Community College
  • Simmons College - Online
  • Sinclair Community College - Online
  • South University – Online
  • Southeastern University
  • Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College
  • Strayer University
  • SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary - Online
  • Troy University - Online
  • Union Institute and University - Online
  • United Theological Seminary - Online 
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham - Online
  • University of Indianapolis
  • University Minnesota-Twin Cities - Online
  • University of Missouri - Online
  • University of Phoenix - Louisville
  • University of Southern California - Online
  • Walden University - Online
  • Webster University
  • West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • West Virginia University - Online
  • Western Carolina University
  • Western Governors University - Online
  • Xavier University

* Please note: CPE may not license every program listed on an out-of-state institution's Web site. Please check CPE's Inventory of Approved Academic Programs or contact CPE if you want to know if a specific program is approved in Kentucky.


Conditional Licensing

Denotation of a conditional license indicates that the institution may still operate in Kentucky, but due to issues concerning one or more standards for licensure, it must fulfill the conditions stated in the letter.




*This information is provided as a public service to students to help ensure they are enrolling in accredited and licensed institutions.  This site is not endorsed or maintained by the Council on Postsecondary Education.



Find out who to contact to obtain records from an institution no longer operating in Kentucky.


The following religious, in-state colleges may operate or solicit in Kentucky per 13 KAR 1:020 Section 2(7)

  • Anglican School of Divinity
  • Bethlehem Outdoor College
  • Commonwealth Baptist College
  • Commonwealth Christian College
  • Covenant Baptist Theological Seminary
  • George W Dupee Bible Institute
  • Green House Ministries
  • Hopkinsville College of the Bible
  • International College of Chaplains
  • Kentuckiana Bible College
  • Life Christian University of Frankfort
  • Life College Inc.
  • Louisville Bible College
  • Life College Inc.
  • Metropolitan Christian University
  • MOFM Christian University
  • The Pastors College

Last Updated 12/5/2016