Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

Leadership Institute recognizes Kentucky adult educators

Release Date: June 9, 2004
Contact: Sue Patrick
Phone: (502) 573-1555

Contact: Pauline Young
Morehead State University
(606) 783-2030

(Frankfort, Ky) Nineteen adult educators were recently recognized for accomplishments in the Kentucky Adult Education Leadership Institute. The Leadership Institute, led by the Adult Education Academy for Professional Development at Morehead State University, introduces participants to principles of continuous program improvement based on the Baldrige National Quality Program, which has long been recognized and respected in the private sector.

Cheryl King, vice-president for Kentucky Adult Education, Council on Postsecondary Education, said, "We are extremely pleased to fund this leadership institute. Through our participation, we hope to engage in continuous improvement in both the effectiveness and efficiency of the services we offer our learners."

Using the Baldrige model, participants examine their organizational performance in seven areas - leadership, strategic planning, student, stakeholder and market focus, measurement, analysis and knowledge management, faculty and staff focus, process management, and results.

Participants learn to collect and analyze local program information for data-based decision making that will improve services to our learners.

"Leadership Institute participants have worked extremely hard during the one or two years they have been enrolled, but they say it has been worth the extra effort," added Connie Spencer-Ackerman, professional development specialist at the Adult Education Academy.

The payoffs have been added stature with business partners, improved communication with program staff, and greater awareness of program effectiveness all through the year, said Spencer-Ackerman. "One program director said that she knew she had to improve but did not know how. Thanks to the Institute, she now knows how," she added.

The categories and the winners include:

Gold Award
Jefferson County: Julie Scoskie, Joyce Griffith and Charlene Brown

Silver Award
Pulaski County: Christine Cothron

Bronze Award
Elliott County: Dottie Fannin
Fayette County: Kristin Tiedeman
Greenup County: Teddie McBrayer
Hardin County: Renae Harrison, Dian Kelly, Joe Batistoni, Michael Sarver
Larue County: Sarah Hornback
Madison County: Brenda S. Hill
Marshall County: Vicki Bloodworth, Karen McLeod
Powell County: Susan Watson
Union County: Suzan Rogers
West Kentucky Educational Cooperative: Jim King, Susan Jackson

For more information about the Kentucky Academy, contact Connie Spencer-Ackerman, Adult Education Academy, Morehead State University, (606) 783-9377.


Kentucky's Postsecondary Education System encompasses nine public institutions and numerous independent institutions and represents 229,061 students, 538,866 Kentucky alumni, and 275,108 GED recipients. When Kentuckians earn postsecondary degrees, their skills improve and their wages go up; they are more likely to lead healthy lives and be engaged in their communities; and they build better futures for themselves and for their families.


Last Updated 8/3/2005