Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

'Can We Talk?'- Council on Postsecondary Education to host Covington forum

Release Date: September 23, 2004
Contact: Sue Patrick
Phone: (502) 573-1555, ext. 308

(Frankfort, Ky) The Council on Postsecondary Education, the coordinating board for the state's system of postsecondary education, will hold a regional forum in Covington to get public input on a variety of issues affecting postsecondary education. The public is encouraged to participate in the forum scheduled Wednesday, Sept. 29 from 6:30-9 p.m. (ET) at Holmes High School.

The Covington forum is one of nine that will be conducted across the state this fall. The forums are part of a year-long process to review and update the statewide plan that will mobilize the resources of the postsecondary education system over the next few years. This process is required by the Postsecondary Education Act of 1997 (House Bill 1).

"We're looking forward to engaging the citizens of northern Kentucky in a meaningful discussion," stated Tom Layzell, president of the Council. "We want to hear about the issues that are important to them and how postsecondary education can help address those issues," he explained.

Layzell said the regional meetings provide an opportunity for citizens to inform the statewide initiatives that will be developed for the state's public colleges and universities.

"Public input is an important part of our process to provide Kentuckians with an efficient, responsive and coordinated system of postsecondary education as required by HB 1," he said.

Residents from 13 counties are invited to attend the Covington forum. The counties include Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Owen, Pendleton and Robertson.

Layzell, Council members, and Council staff will attend the Covington forum.

Individuals interested in attending the forum, or who need more information, are asked to call Chanda Williams-Miller at 502-573-1555, ext. 248.

The other forums will be held in Louisville, Prestonsburg, Manchester, Lexington, Ashland, Paducah, Madisonville and Glasgow.


Last Updated 8/3/2005