Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

Council on Postsecondary Education

Press Release Date:  Monday, July 26, 2010  
Contact Information:  Sue Patrick
Cell: 502-330-6596

The Council on Postsecondary Education approved tuition and mandatory fee proposals for the 2010-11 academic year for the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, Kentucky State University and Western Kentucky University at its meeting Friday in Pikeville.

For resident undergraduates, the Council approved a 4 percent increase for KCTCS and a 5 percent increase for KSU and WKU. The Council also approved proposals for non-resident and graduate rates. In May, the Council set tuition and mandatory fees for all other public institutions.

In other business, the Council focused on Council President Robert King’s annual performance evaluation where he earned high ratings from the Council and key constituent groups.

“Bottom line: I think it’s an extraordinarily positive evaluation,” said Paul Patton, Council chair.

Patton praised King’s performance, noting that he has made great strides in cultivating strategic and effective partnerships between K-12 and higher education, led aggressive efforts to improve student transfer, and reconnected higher education with business and economic development partners. Patton also cited King’s efforts in rebuilding effective relationships with state leaders and campus presidents.

While the Council and King agreed a salary adjustment would not be appropriate given the state’s economy, the Council did extend King’s contract. With the contract extension, King’s contract is for a period of five years ending June 30, 2015.

Also at the meeting, the Council welcomed two new members, Dennis M. Jackson of Paducah and Aaron Price of Louisville. They were administered the oath of office by Chief District Judge Darrell Mullins of Pike County. Jackson is the retired district personnel director of the Paducah Public Schools. He will serve a four-year term expiring December 2015. He replaces Phyllis Maclin of Paducah whose term expired.

Aaron Price is a third-year law student at the University of Louisville’s Louis D. Brandeis School of Law. Price was appointed as the student representative for a one-year term. He replaces Christopher Crumrine whose term expired.

In other business, the Council:

  • Approved a proposal from Western Kentucky University for a bachelor of arts in art history. The degree will provide students with a broad understanding of the history and function of the visual arts from ancient times to the present. The WKU Board of Regents approved the program at its April meeting.
  • Heard an update on the 2011-15 strategic agenda development from Lisa Osborne, chair of the CPE Strategic Agenda Work Group. Osborne reported the four subgroups--college readiness, student success, research and economic competitiveness, and efficiency and innovation--are in the process of tightening their subgroups’ objectives and developing strategies. This fall, the subgroups consider the metrics.
  • Heard a status report on the statewide diversity policy regarding the activity over the past couple of months. The next step is to take the policy to the Committee on Equal Opportunities for a public hearing.
  • Appointed Council member Donna Moore to the research and economic competitiveness strategic planning subgroup and Aaron Price to the student success workgroup.
  • Approved resolutions of service for former Council members Phyllis Maclin and Christopher Crumrine.

The next meeting of the Council is Sept. 12 and will be held at Northern Kentucky University.

Council meeting materials are available at


Last Updated 7/26/2010