Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

Council on Postsecondary Education

Press Release Date:  Friday, September 10, 2010  
Contact Information:  Sue Patrick
Cell: 502-330-6596

Kentucky Adult Education is pleased to announce that 22 adult educators have recently earned national distinction as certified managers in program improvement.

Kentucky is one of 16 states whose adult educators have achieved the certification.

The National Adult Education Professional Development Consortium and ProLiteracy joined forces to develop the Leadership Excellence Academies training and certification initiative. The academies are built upon a foundation of research, theory, professional wisdom and best practices.

To earn the certification, the adult educators completed an intensive 187 hours of workshops, online courses, webcasts, interim activities and learning projects over a two-year period.

“In most cases, there is a strong correlation between leadership and great adult education programs,” said Reecie Stagnolia, Kentucky Adult Education vice president. “We are delighted that our adult educators have earned this certification as we strive to serve more Kentuckians with high quality services and programs.”

Adult educators earning the certification include:

  • Barren County--Jayme Garrett
  • Boone County--Martha Karlage
  • Boyd County--Joan Flanery
  • Bracken, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas and Robertson counties--Bill Teegarden
  • Daviess County--Vicki Boyd
  • Edmonson County--Penny Poteet
  • Floyd County--Kay Ross
  • Hancock County--Jackie Robertson
  • Hardin County-- Renae Harrison
  • Henderson County--Pam Wilson
  • Henry County--Katrina Ackerman
  • Hopkins and Muhlenberg counties--Cris Crowley
  • Jefferson County--Joyce Griffith and Julie Scoskie
  • Jessamine County--Janice Crane
  • LaRue County--Sarah Hornback
  • Laurel County-- Tina Cook and Kathryn Hardman
  • McCracken County--Betty Myrick
  • McLean County--Shawn Taylor
  • Scott County--Diana Waddle
  • Western Kentucky Educational Cooperative—Susan Jackson

For more information on the Leadership Excellence Academies, visit the website at


Last Updated 9/10/2010