Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

Council on Postsecondary Education

Press Release Date:  Friday, May 22, 2009  
Contact Information:  Sue Patrick
Cell: 502-330-6596

The Council on Postsecondary Education took final action on a full schedule of tuition and mandatory fee increases that sets the lowest tuition increase for undergraduate resident students in more than a decade.

Meeting at Murray State University earlier today, the Council approved a 3.3 percent tuition increase for resident undergraduates at the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, a 4 percent increase at the comprehensive institutions and a 5 percent increase at the two research institutions—University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville. The action complies with the tiered tuition and mandatory fee ceilings which the Council approved at its March meeting.

Today’s vote also sets graduate and first-professional rates at each institution, as well as rates for nonresident students. In March, the Council set a nonresident rate of at least two times the resident undergraduate rate and also approved Northern Kentucky University’s full schedule of tuition and fees.

Robert King, president of the Council, said that he was extremely pleased with the outcome of the six-month, iterative process to set tuition.

“We have accomplished our objective to moderate tuition for students while preserving academic quality at our campuses. I am enormously grateful to the campus presidents, their financial officers and boards of trustees,” stated King.

The tiered approach is largely a reflection of the different cost structures associated with the different missions of the three sectors.

In other business, the Council:

  • Renewed the Kentucky/Ohio tuition reciprocity agreements for another two years and amended the Northern Kentucky/Ohio and the Kentucky/Indiana agreement. The agreements provide reciprocal in-state tuition and fee charges for students in defined regions and specific institutions.
  • Accepted the program productivity review report which began in 2008 and examined degree output from 2003-04 to 2007-08. Associate, baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral programs at each institution were reviewed to determine if they meet productivity thresholds and efficiency factors. Based upon the institutions’ recommendations, 5 percent of the programs were closed at the public universities and 7 percent at KCTCS.
  • Commended Kentucky Adult Education for meeting Workforce Investment Act performance goals and receiving incentive awards of $851,748 based on fiscal year 2007 performance. Kentucky was one of 11 states that qualified.
  •  Accepted the Kentucky Adult Learner Initiative policy recommendations which covered three key areas for adult learnerscredit for prior learning, flexible academic programming and financial aid. The Lumina Foundation for Education funded the statewide project.
  • Approved the funding for Eastern Kentucky University’s regional stewardship program in the amount of $288,000.
  • Announced the winners of the sixth annual “Create a KYVL Video” contest for students of Kentucky’s K-12 public schools. The program showcases the creative work of students and spotlights the Student Technology Leadership Program.
  • Presented resolutions of service to Dr. Mark Wattier, CPE faculty representative whose term has expired, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs Mike Seelig, and Dr. Elaine Farris, former interim commissioner of education.
  • Accepted institutional “good news” reports from all the institutions.

The next meeting of the Council will be held July 23-24 at Berea College, Berea, Ky.


Meeting materials are available on the Council Web site at .


Last Updated 5/27/2009