Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

Commonwealth Education Continuum

In order for students to earn degrees and credentials that lead to sustainable, competitive-wage careers, it is imperative that their educational experience, from preschool through postsecondary education, provides an equitable opportunity to successfully transition to the next level. 

In December 2020, the Commonwealth Education Continuum (CEC) was formed out of the moral imperative to strengthen the education pipeline. The Continuum is co-chaired by Kentucky Lt. Governor Jacqueline Coleman, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education (CPE) President Dr. Aaron Thompson, and Kentucky Commissioner of Education Dr. Jason Glass and consists of 28 members whose expertise ranges from early childhood to the workforce.

Guiding Documentation


Subcommittee Membership

As part of broadening the scope of the group, the continuum established workgroups consisting of a mix of students, families, and those who represent and work with students - particularly those who are historically underserved by our education system. These subcommittees will be responsible for creating deliverables and producing specific outputs, which might differ across groups based on the assigned topic area.

Early Postsecondary Opportunities

Led by Commissioner Glass and Dr. Paul Czarapata, this group will focus on such subjects as dual credit, advanced placement and other types of college credit-bearing courses and preparation.

Transition to Postsecondary

Led by President Thompson and Dr. Lu Young, this group will focus on college access and readiness.

Educator Workforce and Diversity

Led by Lt. Governor Coleman and Dr. Corinne Murphy, this group will focus on student outcomes.

Last Updated: 1/16/2022